All All Industry Insights Industry News Media Release Member Only Articles NRA Events NRA Legal NRA Partners NRA Projects NRA Training and Development Policy & Advocacy Policy Updates Technology Tenancy & Leasing Testimonials Thought Leaders Weekly CEO Update WHS Update

2017 National Retail Awards Winners Announced!

September 28, 2017

The National Retail Association has unveiled its 2017 award winners at their largest awards night in the organisation’s history.

The NRA held its premiere gala event last night at Doltone House in Sydney, with awards to recognise both retail businesses and the individuals who have excelled in the industry over the past 12 months.

NRA CEO Dominique Lamb said the 2017 award winners showcased the very best that the Australian retail industry has to offer.

“The judging panel had an extremely tough time deciding on the winners for each category, demonstrating the high calibre of nominees we had for 2017,” Ms Lamb said.

“The NRA would like to congratulate both the finalists and the winners. We would particularly like to say well done to Narell Hall of Karnon Enterprises for taking home Franchisee of the Year, and Myer’s Chloe Harris who won the coveted REST and Scentre Group Young Retailer of the Year.”

Employment Minister, Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash, delivered a message acknowledging the contribution that retail makes to the Australian economy.

“Retail trade is vitally important to the Australian economy and is our second largest employer with 1.2 million Australians working in the industry,” Minister Cash said.

“The retail industry is also the largest employer of young Australians, with so many people beginning their working life in a retail trade.

“The extremely high calibre of the Young Retailer of the Year award nominees shows what young Australians can achieve when they’re given a chance,” Minister Cash said.

The NRA was fortunate to have many wonderful partners who helped to make the night the success it was:

Scentre Group – Tim Roberts, General Manager Leasing:

“Being on the judging panel for the Young Retailer of the Year Award has been incredible to witness the passion and innovation coming from young people across the retail industry. As a proud sponsor, Scentre Group would like to congratulate all of the finalists and the winner,” Mr Roberts said.

Flight Centre – Francesca La Spina, Portative Sales, Events & Partnerships:

“It has been the highlight of my week to present The Customer Experience Award on behalf of Flight Centre Travel Group. It reiterates our philosophy and we recognise that our customers always have a choice. The key measure of whether we really are personally providing our customers with an amazing experience, an amazing product and a very caring service is they will return again and again, ” Ms La Spina said.

Nora Network – Paul Greenberg, Founder:

“I welcome the opportunity to celebrate success, and the National Retail Awards are just that. A glittering multi category awards evening, celebrating not only outstanding brands, but also outstanding people. I commend all the exceptional finalists and congratulate the winners in each category for their hard work, innovation, and steely determination to put the customer in the centre,” Mr Greenberg said.

2017 Award Judges

The NRA would like to thank each of the following judges for their contribution in performing the difficult task of deciding the 2017 winners:

Dr Gary Mortimer – Associate Professor QUT

Jerry Macey – Commonwealth Bank

Catherine van der Meulen – Inside Retail

Tim Schaafsma – Managing Director of Freedom Furniture

Joanna Arhontis – The New Retail Revolution

Craig Hobart – GM of Strategic Relations REST

Tim Roberts – GM of Leasing Scentre Group

Kirby Suttor – Shopping Centre Council Australia

Dr Louise Grimmer – University of Tasmania

2017 Award Winners

The full list of 2017 Retail Awards night winners are listed below:

Retail Category Awards

Food/Beverage Retailer of the Year: Vinomofo

Newsagency Retailer of the Year: Nextra Chermside

Specialty Retailer of the Year: Supercheap Auto

Multi-Category Retailer of the Year: Australian Geographic Co-op

Champion Awards

NORA Innovation Champion of the Year: Two Dogs Hardware

REST People Champion: HUGO BOSS

Social Responsibility Champion: Biome

Flight Centre Customer Experience Champion: Supercheap Auto

Retailer of the Year: Supercheap Auto

Individual Awards

Franchisee of the Year: Narell Hall, Karnon Enterprises Pty Ltd, Boost Juice

Store Manager of the Year: Scott Boettcher, Supercheap Auto

Outstanding Contribution to the Industry: Peter Birtles, CEO Super Retail Group

AMEX People’s Choice Award: Arlo + Co

REST & Scentre Group Young Retailer of the Year

Runner Up: Luke Parish, BCF, Super Retail Group

Winner: Chloe Harris, MYER

Photograph & Videography

The event was videoed and photographed by Hello Sweetheart Photography. To view the stunning photos from the evening, click here! 

Watch this space for the event video. 

NRA Media

  • National Retail Association strengthens support for members on leasing and tenancy
    June 01, 2021

    We are pleased to have strengthened our partnership with Lpc Cresa, a leading advisor to retail tenants across Australia and New Zealand, to assist our…

    Read More
    September 03, 2018

    To download the nomination form, click here

    Read More
  • Closing Loopholes Bill No. 2 passes Parliament 
    February 20, 2024

    Earlier this month, it was confirmed that both Houses of Parliament passed the second tranche of amendments to the Fair Work Act 2009 (Cth) under…

    Read More
  • Jump start your business for 2021 and step ahead of the competition
    November 20, 2020

    2020 has undoubtedly been one of the most challenging years for all of us. It has created unprecedented trends in every industry, and shown retailers…

    Read More
  • NRA members winners in new partnership with Aussie Broadband
    November 16, 2020

    You must be logged in to view this content.

    Read More

What our clients say

Want to chat?
Contact our team today!